Banana Treats – Take 2

When I told Don last night that I’d received a couple of comments about these yesterday, his response was, “let’s make more! I know we can do better.” LOL  So, here’s take 2 on the tasty banana treats.

Ingredients: 

  • bananas
  • nut butter of your flavor – almond butter, peanut butter, meenut butter (I have not tried this yet but want to soon)
  • bacon
  • cinnamon
  • chocolate – we also added a little raw honey and almond milk to the melted chocolate to add sweetness and to thin it out for drizzling

Don had the forethought to cut the bacon into bite size pieces before cooking it. If you are frying in a pan on the stove I think this would be a hassle but we bake it in the oven and it worked out great. The pieces were more uniform rather than baking it as a long strip and then trying to break it into pieces later. (My previous method.) Our bacon pieces went into the oven on parchment paper at 350 degrees, for about 25 minutes.

While they baked, Don cut up two bananas. He went with a different configuration.

IMG_8283

Into the freezer for a few.

Adding nut butter.

IMG_8285

Added bacon. Somewhere in here he dusted them with cinnamon too.

IMG_8288

Back into the freezer.

Melted chocolate.

Drizzled Blobbed on the bites.

IMG_8299

IMG_8301

So pretty… Back into the freezer with you!

IMG_8303

IMG_8306

Second round verdict? So much easier to eat. Perfect size. Don LOVES them. Me, eh…it’s too much chocolate. Whoa! I know. I’m a freak. They are good. I can appreciate that they are good. I just don’t like chocolate much. So, Don can have his chocolatey treats, and I can have something with vanilla, or strawberries, or just about anything else. :-)

The superiority of chocolate, both for health and nourishment, will soon give it the same preference over tea and coffee in America which it has in Spain.
~ Thomas Jefferson

2 comments

    1. LOL That’s what Don says to me too, with a quizzical look on his face. I’m thinking of writing a post about what chocolate I DO like, since I do like a few. Hmm…something I’m still pondering.

      Like this

What do you think?

