Rum Soaked Cherries

A week ago we came across something a little bit different at the local liquor store, Midnight Moon Blueberry Moonshine, with real blueberries in it. It was pretty good. But it got Don thinking about other fruits in alcohol. And because I had bought some cherries recently, he got it in his head that he wanted to jar some cherries with rum. Not entirely sure how it’s going to turn out but this is how it went.

First we went on a mission for a cherry pitter.

IMG_8759

Success!

Next, Don spent a fair amount of time pitting enough cherries to fill a quart sized mason jar.

And because we bought about three pounds of cherries and still had a ton left, I got the pleasure of pitting enough for the second jar. Yay me!

IMG_8765

Don though it best to use Bacardi 151 in this fruity alcohol experiment.

IMG_8766

We filled the jars.

IMG_8769

And used our handy-dandy food saver to remove all the air from the jars.

IMG_8771

And now we wait. I’m not sure how long.

IMG_8774

I’m a little nervous because as I write this and research that there are actual recipes out there for this, I wonder if we should have properly canned them or at least put them in the fridge. They’ve been on the counter for a week. Um, cross your fingers for me that we didn’t just waste all those cherries and rum. :-)

If you are not willing to risk the unusual, you will have to settle for the ordinary.
~ Jim Rohn

2 comments

    1. Not sure. I’m going to suggest we try them tomorrow, based on the recipes I’ve read that all seem to ferment for a week, or even less. But it’s Don’s experiment, I will defer to whatever he wants. :)

      Like

What do you think?

