If I could be doing anything right now…

I’d be snorkeling somewhere tropical with Don. Crystal blue waters. Sun warming our backs. Tropical fish and sea turtles swimming by. Dolphins playing in the surf in the distance.

But, since that’s not going to be happening anytime soon let’s be more realistic. Hmm, I’d be at home working on my latest quilt. I’ve just taken up quilting a little over a year ago. I didn’t start to really know what I was doing until within the last six months. (At least, I hope I know what I’m doing. 🙂 ) I’ve made five quilts so far. Four were gifts and one was commissioned for sale. They are all baby or toddler sized. (45 inches x 45 inches or smaller.) Good for children’s beds, play space on the floor, or laps on the couch. My designs are fairly simple block designs, some scrappy, some with a design pattern. I really enjoy coming up with color combinations and patterns. I’m still ridiculously intimidated by designs that require more intricate piecing than simple block pieces but I have some patterns set aside that I am eager to try when I’m ready to take that next step into more daring territory.

Here’s a look at the quilts I’ve made so far. (One is not pictured because it is a gift and it hasn’t been gifted yet. I don’t want to spoil the surprise.)

My latest is another simple block, scrappy design. I am thinking about posting this one for sale on www.Etsy.com. If you are interested in it let me know. I’d love to save myself the time of listing it on Etsy if someone puts a claim on it now. When finished it will be about 45 x 45, maybe an inch or two smaller.

 

I have SO many ideas for more quilts and I have to remind myself that I can only do one at a time. Most fresh in my mind is an idea for my niece and her husband who have asked for a quilt. My goal is to finish their quilt in time for Christmas. It shouldn’t take me that long to make but it is going to take me some time to buy the new fabrics. Until then, I have tons of scraps leftover from these earlier projects to keep me busy making scrappy designs.

Don has also decided that I need to make something for us to keep and his idea is naturally more advanced than anything I’ve made so far. Typical. Now I have to learn how to sew zippers for his fancy, fan-dangled design. More on that later when I understand it better too.

If YOU could be doing anything right now, what would it be?

2 comments

  1. If I could be doing anything right now, it’d be reading my son a book while he sits on my lap. I know it’s not the most adventurous answer, but I love the togetherness of reading with him.

    Even as I type this, I’m giggling to think how fifteen-year-old me would respond to what I just wrote. I think it’d be something along the lines of: *gagplorf*

    😀

    Looking at your quilts makes me think I really need to take a girlfriend up on her offer to teach me how to knit! I’d love to be creating things that don’t involve words. I love writing, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not usually as zen an experience as when I used to make postcards from Japan!

    Like

    1. I tried knitting and just couldn’t get the hang of it. I still have all the yarn and needles from YEARS ago in case at some point I feel daring enough to try again. My sister-in-law makes the best blankets and other kitted things. I wish I had the patience for it. Quilting has definitely worked out better for me. I also like to make my own cards, for thank you’s mostly but some birthday cards, etc. using rubber stamps. I tried scrapbooking but it wasn’t really my thing. I like the two scrapbooks that I made of a couple of our biggest trips but I much prefer making cards to send to other people.

      Thanks for stopping by and checking out my site – and subscribing! Hope I deliver on interest. 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

