Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m rattling around the house alone today, not really sure what to do with myself. After a sweat drenched hour or so of turning the compost pile, spraying weed killer in the tiny patch of grass that can’t be mowed with anything but a weed eater, spraying for bugs (spiders) in the “garage”, and blowing out the bug zapper with the air compressor so that it can still function, I’m not very encouraged to go outside. It’s just so damn hot! Don’t get me wrong, I would rather be somewhere hot than cold, but on days like this I want to be at the beach, in the water, on the water, something of that sort.

So, in an effort to entertain myself inside today, I tried a new recipe for Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies that a friend shared with me recently. (Thanks Di!) This recipe is adapted from a recipe, from another recipe, and rather than provide link after link to give credit to the original source, let’s just say these aren’t my own creation. I claim no credit to this recipe, just wanted to share it with others.

Here’s what you’ll need if you like to try these little delights:

  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsps of almond butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375

Cream the butter and sugar together.

Mix in the egg. Then add the almond flour, vanilla, salt, baking soda, and almond butter. Once it’s all mixed together well, fold in the chocolate chips by hand.

I’ve recently learned the beauty of working with parchment paper, so I suggest that you line your baking tray with parchment paper, but if you’ve got a baking tray or a silicone mat that works wonders for you then by all means skip the parchment paper.

Scoop even sized portions (yeah, easier said than done) onto your baking surface.

(It’s been a l o n g time since I’ve baked cookies so my spatial understanding of how many I can get on the tray is a little lacking. This batter is also a little less firm than the average batter so there was really no moving it around once it was down on the paper.)

Bake your cookies for about 12 – 15 minutes. I checked mine at 10, just because I get paranoid with new recipes. But in the end, I did bake mine for about 14 minutes so the 12-15 is bang on.

The one additional thing I forgot with my oven is that it bakes faster in the back and we usually turn our dishes halfway through to get even baking. I forgot to do this so I got a few cookies that ended up a little crisper in the back.

They still turned out pretty darn good. I really like the light crispness of these cookies. You can see they are not plump and not very gooey so if you like that sort of thing, these might not be for you. I ate one while it was still warm and I thought it was perfect. Yummy goodness all around.

The recipe made the ten cookies you see here, as well as 13 more balls that I stored for quick cookie treats another day. Thanks to the tip from Mel in her Banana Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies post on chilling your batter to make balls that you can store in the fridge and make on the fly another day. Such a clever girl.

Without ice cream, there would be darkness and chaos.
~ Don Kardong

(I know my post didn’t have anything to do with ice cream, but the quote just really made me smile. And it’s sort of related. It’s a dessert anyway.) 🙂

 

2 comments

  1. Aren’t these delicious? I made them on Saturday night, but they didn’t flatten out and ended up more like a biscuit. I thought it was because I used almond meal instead of the ridiculously expensive almond flour. After reading your post, I realize I forgot the almond butter!! Silly me.

    Like

What do you think?

