Banana Bread Blunder

I attempted a new banana bread recipe last night. I adapted from this recipe.

I used:

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup softened or melted butter
  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 3/4 cup crushed walnuts

(It’s not all there but you get the idea.)

The process is simple. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and butter your baking dish.

Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl. Flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.

Combine the wet ingredients in another.  Bananas, eggs, butter, and vanilla.

Add wet to dry (or dry to wet) and mix together well.

Fold in nuts.

My signature addition has always been melted butter and brown sugar to the top of the mix in the pan. (A trick I learned from my college roommate. People LOVE it.) Since we are trying to minimize our sugar, and because this recipe already used a LOAD of butter, I opted for just a sprinkling of brown sugar on the top.

Bake for 45 minutes, or more depending. Use toothpick test to test firmness.

It looked great going in.

It looked great when it first came out.

And it does taste great. But the texture and the appearance are a little lacking.

I’m so embarrassed by this picture but I gotta show you how it really looks just to be fair.

It’s my first banana bread blunder. But it wasn’t a total failure. It still tastes amazing. I just don’t like how it looks. Although, cut a piece off and it’s hardly noticeable.

Next time I will need to play around with the recipe and my cook time to see if I can remedy this problem. Maybe I just didn’t cook it long enough. Maybe it just doesn’t set up the same regardless because the almond flour is just a different consistency than regular flour. Maybe it needs baking powder – the one other glaring difference from my old school Betty Crocker recipe. If anyone knows the secret to this mystery, please feel free to let me in on it.

Bottom line, I still rocked the flavor, and that’s all that really matters in the end.

We are living in a world today where lemonade is made from artificial flavors and furniture polish is made from real lemons.
~ Alfred E. Newman

3 comments

What do you think?

