I Heart Watermelon

Watermelon.

Beautiful, simple, juicy, bright, wonderful watermelon.

I don’t eat watermelon much. They seem too big, like too much trouble. I can’t say I’ve had any inspiring moments to make me crave watermelon or even think much about it.

Until my neighbors gave us half a watermelon a few weeks ago. O  M  G.

I could not believe the sudden flavor infusion. Visions of childhood summers came rushing back. How could I FORGET the taste of this beautiful food?

I can’t get enough now.

The best feeling is standing over the sink (or even better, outside) with a wedge of watermelon, biting into it, the juice bursting in your mouth – and running down your face. It’s so much more FUN than eating cut pieces from a bowl. It makes me feel like a kid again. It makes me want to run and do cartwheels in the yard.

Did you know that there are more than 100 different varieties of watermelon? I did not. Depending on the variety, the flesh can be red (oh yeah), pink, orange, or even yellow. Go figure!

Uncut watermelon can be stored for about two weeks at room temperature, cooler temperatures preferred of course. Once cut, keep your pieces tightly wrapped in plastic wrap and eat within two or three days.

No wonder I’ve been bored by cut watermelon over the years! It’s usually a bit dried out and missing all of its flavor punch by the time we get it in restaurants or in pre-cut fruit medleys at the grocery store.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, get yourself a fresh, uncut watermelon today and rediscover this amazing fruit!

Just maybe think twice about getting one as big as my 19 pounder, unless you have 4 or 5 mouths to feed.

When one has tasted watermelon he knows what the angels eat.
~ Mark Twain

2 comments

  1. I cut one up for the BBQ last night and next to the fire chips (nacho cheese doritos), it was the most popular food with the kids. It’s a good thing I did some tasting while cutting it up or I wouldn’t have had any!

    Like

What do you think?

