Freedom Fest and Movie Monday

Happy Independence Day!

We went up to Fort Polk on Saturday and checked out some of the trails in the nearby forest areas. Wow, was it humid that day.

Later, Blake Shelton performed a free concert called Freedom Fest.
Complete with fireworks afterwards.

We found a great spot, on a small hill, that was across the field from the stage.

We couldn’t see Blake (and didn’t think to bring binoculars) but we enjoyed the music and our spot was perfect for viewing the fireworks.

MOVIES!

Sunday we made it out to the early bird show of Transformers 3 in 3D. Yay! It was great. A little long but we didn’t mind that. It is a bit of an overload on the senses. It is very fast paced and action packed. Don commented that it is a bit darker than the earlier movies. More violence – Decepticons killing humans. Overall I think the movie was put together well and a great extension on the Transformers story.

Other movies I’ve seen since my last Movie Monday…

Life As We Know It

I have mixed feelings about this movie. I watched this one alone when Don was on duty because I expected it to be too chick flick-y for him. I think he might have liked it actually. At least parts of it. It definitely made me laugh, and if someone asked, I would say I enjoyed the movie. But it’s one of those movies that promotes the idea that two people were living unfulfilled, somewhat empty lives, and lo and behold, the introduction of a child into their world redeemed them and gave their life purpose. I don’t dispute that this can happen in real life but I also believe that people can live full, purpose-filled lives even if they do not have children. So I have mixed feelings about the deeper meaning and image this movie portrays, but on the surface, it was fun and entertaining. A little predictable at times but what romantic comedy isn’t these days.

Black Swan

This movie was weird. It didn’t hold my attention 100%. I found myself up and doing a few things in the kitchen while it played. I didn’t think it was a waste of my time though. I thought Natalie Portman did a fabulous job. (I already really enjoy her as an actress.) Some parts were creepy and I had to look away. I don’t want to give any spoilers so I won’t go into anything but it’s worth mentioning that I have a weak stomach for certain things that wouldn’t bother other people in the least so you probably don’t need to worry. I am glad I watched this one when Don was working too; he would have hated this one. LOL  I thought it was interesting and worth watching once just to check it out.

The Dilemma

We watched this together last night. It was fun. I would say we both really enjoyed it. We stopped it frequently to comment on the choices the characters were making and whether we thought they were dumb or not. Not communicating with the person you should really be communicating with is dumb in our book. But yes, it can make for funny scenarios sometimes.

Have a safe and sane 4th of July!

This, then, is the state of the union:  free and restless, growing and full of hope.  So it was in the beginning.  So it shall always be, while God is willing, and we are strong enough to keep the faith.
~Lyndon B. Johnson

What do you think?

