A Tasty Primal Treat: Coconut Macadamia Bark

By request, today’s post is a fun dessert recipe that’s super easy to put together and helps satisfy cravings for chocolate and sweets. These treats offer a dose of healthy fats and not much sugar, for those of you keeping those things in mind.

Now, I can’t take much credit for this recipe. I didn’t come up with it. I simply found this recipe online and then tweaked it as suggested in the recipe.

Originally the recipe calls for:

  • 1 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup toasted coconut flakes
  • 2/3 cup roughly chopped macadamia nuts

In previous batches I’ve added a little more coconut, nuts, and some chocolate almond bark.

Last night I tried something a little different. Hopefully folks (Don and his buddies at work) like it as much as my almond bark version.

For this batch I used:

  • a little over 1 cup melted coconut oil
  • a little over 1/2 cup toasted coconut flakes (unsweetened but sweetened works too)
  • about one cup of roughly chopped macadamia nuts
  • 2 squares of dark chocolate
  • about 1 tbsp of dark chocolate almond butter
  • about 1/2 tbsp of almond butter (not pictured because I added it as a last-minute after-thought)

Instructions

First and foremost, preheat your own to 350 for toasting the coconut.

Line a pan with parchment paper. I use a 9 x 13 baking pan which is one reason why I bumped up the measurements on the ingredients. My first batch was super thin when I kept more true to the original recipe.

Spread your coconut flakes out on a cookie sheet, or in a baking pan, and bake for 5 – 10 minutes. Check every minute or two. Shake your pan or use a spatula to turn the flakes as much as you can. You want to get a nice golden, toasted look. I can let mine go for about three minutes without watching them but then they start to brown and need constant attention. Don’t walk away from these guys! They will burn quickly if you are not paying attention.

Melt your solids (if you have any) in the microwave, 30 second increments so you don’t scorch anything. I melted down my almond butter and my dark chocolate while my coconut flakes toasted.

Then, simply mix everything together. Pour the mixture in the parchment lined pan.

Freeze for about 30 minutes. (Try to level your pan in the freezer as best you can. I didn’t do a very good job this time and ended up with an uneven thickness.)

Remove and break apart into friendly sized pieces.

Store in the refrigerator.

Super easy, tasty treat! Go with your instincts and play with the recipe. You can add fruit, other nuts, milk chocolate, white chocolate, or whatever your heart desires.

I never met a chocolate I didn’t like.
~ Deanna Troi in Star Trek: The Next Generation

What do you think?

