Apple-Celery Salad

I saw one of the chefs on Chopped (one of my favorite shows btw) make an apple-celery slaw recently. It really piqued my interest so I headed to the computer to research recipes online. Here’s my first attempt at an Apple-Celery Salad (or slaw.)

The following made enough for two servings:

  • one granny smith apple
  • two stalks of celery
  • a small handful of raisins
  • parsley
  • lemon juice
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • salt

I cut the apple and celery into thin slices about as long as the size of the apple – not very easy to eat actually. Shorter slices next time for sure.

I tossed the apple and celery into a bowl with a dash of salt, a splash of lemon juice and olive oil, a few shakes of the parsley, and the raisins, and mixed together. Easy as that!

I like the flavor of the apple and the celery together, and the lemon compliments them nicely. But I think I could do without the olive oil. Maybe I just splashed too much, or maybe it just doesn’t need it at all. I’ve seen other recipes that use yogurt in the dressing rather than oil but I didn’t have any in the house so I gave the oil a try. I think red onion would also be a nice addition depending on your tastes.

Surely the apple is the noblest of fruits.
~ Henry David Thoreau

4 comments

  1. I may need to try this! I’m the world’s biggest foodie, and hardly ever come across something I don’t feel the need to try.
    Chopped is a cool show. I just got into it about 2 weeks ago. Now I’m checking every night to see if it’s coming on. Lol.

    Like

  2. That is very similar to my aunt’s waldorf salad, but I believe she uses yogurt. I can’t find it in her cook book for some reason – I’ll have to ask her next weekend.

    Like

What do you think?

