30 Day Book Reflection

I tripped across this interesting list on another blogger’s site recently. I think it could make for easy blog ideas on days that I don’t have something else on my mind.

I’m not going to do these in  30 consecutive days, just here and there when I don’t have something else to post. I’ll link back to this post each day until I’ve completed all 30 days.

Disclaimer: I think it’s near impossible to choose absolute favorites, loves, hates, etc. when talking about books. At best my answers will be subjective to my current mood or simply the titles, characters, etc. that come to mind on a given day.

Day 1: Your 10 favorite books of all time.
Day 2: Your 5 least favorite books of all time.
Day 3: Your favorite characters (and which books they’re from).
Day 4: Characters you hate.
Day 5: If you were stranded on a desert island, what five books would you take with you? Include one reason for each.
Day 6: The best book you’ve read in the last year.
Day 7: The worst book you’ve read in the last year.
Day 8: Your favorite quotes from books.
Day 9: Your favorite quotes about books.
Day 10: Name five absolutely great film adaptations of books.
Day 11: Name three absolutely awful film adaptations of books.
Day 12: Your favorite author(s).
Day 13: Your favorite book from childhood.
Day 14: A book you regret not having read sooner.
Day 15: A book you haven’t read, but is on your “will read” list.
Day 16: A book you haven’t read and have no intention of ever reading. (If you want, tell us why you don’t want to read it.)
Day 17: A book you want to like, but can’t get into for whatever reason. Why can’t you get into it?
Day 18: A book you think is highly overrated.
Day 19: A book you think is woefully underrated.
Day 20: The environment you most enjoy reading in.
Day 21: The most disturbing book you’ve ever read.
Day 22: A book you once loved, but don’t anymore. What changed?
Day 23: A book you once hated, but now like. What changed?
Day 24: Your favorite series.
Day 25: The nerdiest book you’ve ever read.
Day 26: Your favorite type of non-fiction book.
Day 27: Your favorite genre.
Day 28: The first book you can remember reading on your own.
Day 29: An author you wish was more well-known.
Day 30: The book you’re reading right now.

Let’s go ahead and start with Day 1 now.

10 favorite books of all time. Really? Ok. I’ll give it a whirl.

Armageddon’s Children, Terry Brooks
Assassin’s Apprentice, Robin Hobb
A Voice In The Wind, Francine Rivers
A Vision of Light, Judith Merkle Riley
Firefly Lane, Kristin Hannah
The Eye of the World, Robert Jordan
The Firebrand, Marion Zimmer Bradley
The Queen’s Fool, Philippa Gregory
The Shell Seekers, Rosamunde Pilcher
The Stand, Stephen King

I feel like my tastes are not very sophisticated because I didn’t list anything like Pride and Prejudice, which I did read in college, and I recall enjoying it a great deal, but I don’t know that it stands up as a favorite of all time. Sorry Jane Austen.

You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend. 
~ Paul Sweeney

6 comments

  1. My favs are good collection of literature and smut

    Fire and Ice – Katherine Hart
    The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner
    To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
    Faith of the Fallen – Terry Goodkind
    Sweet Surrender – Catherine Coulter
    Sons and Lovers – DH Lawrence
    Dresden Files – Jim Butcher (I know, I cheated, it’s a whole series but I can’t pick just one!!)
    The Rape of the Lock – Alexander Pope (another cheat, but it’s a great short satire)
    Les Liaisons Dangereuses – Choderlos de Laclos (has to be read in French – the english translations lose a bit of the edge)

    I have already thought of a few I HATE too, but I will wait until it comes up.

    Like

    1. I cheated on my list too, most of my books were the first of a series and I love the whole series, not just the first book.

      I did miss mention of Faith of the Fallen, that was definitely my favorite book in the Sword of Truth series. Best by far.

      I’ll have to add some of yours that I haven’t read to my want to read list so I have good things to choose from when I’m looking for new reads. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

What do you think?

