Dinner, documentary, and other randomness

We made mashed squash again last night – thank you Phyllis for the veggies! 🙂 I could eat the whole pot by myself this stuff is so good. I am not missing mashed potatoes in any way when I can get my hands on this.

Don modified his recipe a bit again.

  • squash
  • zucchini
  • jalapeno
  • garlic
  • butter
  • sour cream
  • about 2 tbsp of almond flour
  • one avocado
  • salt

There may have been something else he tossed in that I didn’t see but I’m fairly certain that even just these ingredients would make for good eats.

Cut your squash and zucchini into chunks and fill the pot about halfway with water. Steam on medium high for about 15 minutes or until soft enough to mash.

Drain the water and add the remaining ingredients: jalapeno (diced and keep the seeds if you like it spicy like us), sour cream, avocado, salt, garlic, butter, almond flour, and anything else you’d like, to taste.

Blend together.

It might look like pureed baby food, and green to boot if you add avocado, but let me tell you, it’s packed with flavor and goodness!

We paired our mashed squash with jalapeno sausage, and my apple-celery salad from Saturday. Mmm, good.

I also made another banana bread yesterday. I realized as I got everything together that I used twice as much butter as the recipe calls for last time. LOL  No wonder it wouldn’t set up well! I corrected that error this time around and I added about a tsp of baking powder as well. It turned out much better this time. It’s not as big and beautiful as my trusty old recipe, but it tastes great which in the end is all that really matters anyway.

After dinner last night we watched Food Inc. on Netflix.

Wow. I hardly know what to say. Take some time to watch this film. It is disturbing on so many levels but the information is something every person should know. We should all know where our food comes from, how it is produced, what companies are involved, and how politics and our government are involved. This film touches on all these things and more, and of course it’s only a small portion of the bigger picture but that’s ok. It gets you thinking and looking at things differently and that’s a good starting point.

Don and I have been shopping more organically in the last few months and our meat is mostly natural fed deer or hog that Don has hunted himself. But we do still buy bacon, chicken, and the occasional beef at the grocery store. Grass-fed farms are mentioned by a lot of primal bloggers that I follow, and they’ve been touched on in other food documentaries we’ve watched, but before this film we’ve never seen anything that pushed us to make a change in that regard. We have allowed ourselves to be put off by the assumption that it would be expensive and excessive. Now, regardless of cost, we will be making an effort to find local grass-fed, organic farmers, and making more trips to the farmers market on Saturdays. It is worth the effort and a little extra cost. Watch the film and see if you agree.

Support your local farmers in whatever little ways you can and be part of the change that needs to come to this country in terms of food production and distribution. Every little bit helps and contributes to the larger whole which can make great strides toward change.

On a random note, I caught Milo getting a taste of the smoky hand last night. 🙂

Organic farming has been shown to provide major benefits for wildlife and the wider environment. The best that can be said about genetically engineered crops is that they will now be monitored to see how much damage they cause.
~ Prince Charles

4 comments

  1. We watched Food Inc on Friday and I will now be visiting Bill the butcher for our meat regardless of cost. As the last farmer suggested, I will do my best to vote with my wallet against the large food manufacturers who are abusing power, people, animals and our environment. We can make a difference one family at a time.

    Like

  2. I’m really glad to be reading this right now. I haven’t seen the documentary, although I’ve read a lot of books and articles along a similar vein. “My” grocery store is across the street from the local farmer’s market, but I keep missing it because it opens an hour later than I like to pick up my groceries. I really need to reconsider just how much that extra hour means to me.

    I’m super excited about your mashed squash recipe! I’m going to buy the ingredients for that on this weekend’s shopping trip, which will hopefully involve the farmer’s market.

    Like

What do you think?

