30 Day Book Reflection – Day 2

Day 2: Your 5 least favorite books of all time.

Thank goodness I keep an Excel spreadsheet where I log notes and reviews to myself on books I’ve read or I could never answer this. Who bothers to remember the names of books they didn’t like? I can’t hardly remember the ones I do like. I just don’t think I have enough room in my brain for it.

I’m not sure I’ll be able to remember much about why I didn’t like these but I’ll see what I can dredge up for you, and maybe I’ll get lucky and have left myself some good notes.

Heart of the Matter, Emily Giffin
I do remember being totally bummed with this book because I have really enjoyed Giffin’s other books, Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and Baby Proof, and Love the One You’re With. But this book, for me, was a downer for most of the story. It is about two characters who are, generally speaking, good people who find themselves in difficult circumstances and how they deal with those circumstances. It really comes down to the fact that I did not relate to these characters or their circumstances.

Light of the Moon, Luanne Rice
I can’t remember reading this at all. How bad is that? My spreadsheet says I read it in 2009 and that I skimmed a lot of it because it just wasn’t my kind of story. I’m not sure if it was the writing that put me off or that the romance just didn’t work for me.

The House on Olive Street, Robyn Carr
This story is about four friends who come together after a novelist friend dies, to organize and possibly publish her literary works that have not been completed. It is a heart-warming story and it was written well enough but something about just didn’t engage me fully. My notes simply say, “wasn’t great.”

The Family, Mario Puzo
This is a historical novel centered around the 15th-century Borgias. I enjoyed the historical content, and Puzo’s writing was well done, but the story just didn’t wow me. I think it’s fair to say it’s a least favorite book but it was not a total waste of my time.

Oh, wow. I just remembered my least favorite of ALL TIME! (Is there another category for that later? Should I save this little nugget for then?)

People are going to hate me for this one and I’m cheating a little because it’s not just one book this time, but a whole series.

Twilight, Stephanie Meyer

(Covering my head while all sorts of things are thrown at me for my brazen admission.)

I’m sorry, these books were like the worst kind of personal torture. I read them because a friend was a huge fan and I wanted to give the whole phenomenon a chance but I could have done without the experience. It wasn’t the genre. I have read some fabulous vampire novels. These were not it.

Excuse me now, while I run and hide from the gazillion loyal Twilight fans who will be hunting me with stakes and pitchforks.

A room without books is like a body without a soul.
~ Marcus T. Cicero

4 comments

  1. I hated the Twilight series too. Not only was the writing juevenile, the characters were so shallow. And the coup de gras? In my opinion Edward was a pedephile. (There. I think I successfully deflected criticism from you.)

    Like

    1. Excellent! You are my hero! 🙂

      (Although I will bury myself further by agreeing that the writing was juvenile – not for juveniles, just juvenile. And shallow characters, agreed. Sorry Stephanie Meyer. I liked your book The Host, if it’s any consolation.)

      Like

  2. I’m getting out my stakes and pitchforks!! I like twilight overall, but maybe because it was set in an area I am familiar with or maybe because it was quick, mindless reading. I don’t have enough time on my hands for deeper reading.

    One book that has always stuck in my head and I hated it was Wuthering heights. Every last character was miserable and scheming. I felt traumatized after reading that.

    Like

What do you think?

