Movie Monday – Hall Pass, Drive Angry, and Harry Potter

Since my last Movie Monday we’ve seen three movies (I think.) We’ve been watching Game of Thrones on HBO too – SO GOOD!

Hall Pass
I think I expected too much from this movie. I wanted it to be a riot and it was only mediocre laughs. It was not a total waste of time. I enjoyed it more than hot pokers to my eyes, but I’m so glad we didn’t pay to see it in the theater.

Drive Angry
Conversely, I had very low expectations for this movie and it surprised me! I remembered hearing some negative press about it when it was in the theater. Even though I don’t remember what the critics disliked I’ve always thought the title was dumb so I wasn’t very interested in even seeing it. But Don still wanted to check it out so I put it on the Netflix list and resigned myself to a “Don’s pick” night. I am so glad we gave it a chance. It was very interesting. Unique. Original. Weird. I can’t even really tell you what it’s about without spoiling some of the fun of experiencing it as you go. I can say that the violence is graphic so if you don’t like that sort of thing, stay away. (Reminds me of Quentin Tarantino movies.) I generally don’t enjoy graphic violence but sometimes it has it’s place and it worked well with this movie. I will also say that if you like to watch life drama, like cop dramas, or psychotic killer suspense thrillers, then you probably won’t like this flick. It’s definitely more geared for those that enjoy sci-fi and fantasy. Some of the action scenes were ridiculously far-fetched but that was ok. I can forgive that.

Harry Potter
Need I even say? It was outstanding! I was blown away. Excellent end to the story. It’s been a couple of years since I read the last book so I can’t tell you if they left a ton of things out, and even if they did, I don’t think it really matters. As a movie on its own, it was simply fantastic. I wish we had been in a theater with an audience that was a little more gung-ho Harry, because I would have loved to clap and whoop at the end but we had a sedate group and I’m just not brave enough to be the first clapper.

Every great film should seem new every time you see it.
~ Roger Ebert

What do you think?

