Grilled Watermelon Salad

Yum! This was amazing!

I tripped across this idea yesterday and had to try it. I would have NEVER though to grill watermelon. I am so glad that I came across this by accident. It was fun and relatively easy to put together.

I looked up multiple recipes (recipe 1, recipe 2, recipe 3) so that I could get a good idea about variations. This is how I made mine.

Ingredients:

  • watermelon
  • sweet onion
  • ground ginger
  • extra-virgin olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • red wine vinegar
  • feta cheese
  • mint leaves
  • kosher salt
  • pepper
  • green leaf lettuce

I chopped up the watermelon.

I got a few other things ready, the onion, mint, and feta.

I put 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar, a dash of red wine vinegar, a dash of extra-virgin olive oil, and a few shakes of my ground ginger in a small pan and set it on medium-high heat to reduce it to a thicker syrup consistency.

This worked, somewhat. It really reduces a ton so I had to make another batch to have enough for all the watermelon. This was only enough for my first taster plate – which came out awesome!

So I put together my second batch of syrup to cook on the stove and I headed outside to grill up all the watermelon. It doesn’t take long, maybe five to ten minutes total.

Once the watermelon was ready, I built our salads. No measurements necessary. Just put as little or as much as you like of each item. For me, a little green leaf lettuce on the bottom, then watermelon, onion, feta, salt and pepper, mint leaves, and balsamic syrup drizzled over the top. Mmmm…

Dinner was a hit! Chicken-fried pork chops, broccoli slaw, and grilled watermelon salad.

Boy, this eating primal thing sure is horrible. 🙂

I feel a recipe is only a theme, which an intelligent cook can play each time with a variation.
~ Madam Benoit

2 comments

    1. Thanks! I feel like I need to get some white plates to properly show off our food, but I’m not sure that white really suits us. It does make me laugh that the same plate looks slightly different in color due to the lighting in the different shots. I guess using lighting more effectively is an aspect of shooting that will come with practice. Although the lighting in our kitchen is bad so I only have so much to work with there.

      Like

What do you think?

