Fun at the Range

Sometimes it just feels good to shoot a few rounds and blow holes in paper.

Yesterday we took the new guns out (and the AR-15.) Don’s been dying to show them off to me and wants me to be comfortable shooting them. Hmm, I don’t know about that last part. They are some pretty big guns.

Here’s Don shooting the AR-15. It had some jamming problems. It seems we need to do some maintenance.

Don wasn’t focused on pictures so he didn’t get a shot of me shooting the AR.

Here’s the big dog, the Springfield M-14. Don’s actually just holding the gun up for me to take a pic. I can’t even keep my eyes open and not flinch when he shoots this one. I did shoot it (no pics of course) but I don’t think I’ll ever be “comfortable” shooting such a ginormous gun. The concussion is huge when this gun fires. It’s a little less scary when you’re behind it, but the power behind this gun is overwhelming. This is Don’s primary hunting gun.

Ok. I finally just had to ask him to take a picture of me shooting the last one, the Siaga 12 shotgun. Of the three guns I like this one the best. I’ve always liked shotguns. It still has quite a kick but it isn’t as intimidating as the M-14. One day we hope to get into some competition shooting. Not with the Siaga. It is for home defense and the zombie apocalypse.

I like Don’s face in this first one. He was checking that I was ready with the camera because it was our last few rounds.

I like how you can see the shells flying out.

I also snapped this landscape facing away from the range. I like the two little trees, kind of lonely in the field.

In Houston everyone owns guns and uses ’em – sometimes just for the hell of it.
~ Shelley Duvall

What do you think?

