Pork Chop Stir Fry

Don was busy doing a few things last night so dinner was on me. We had pork chops defrosted and I wanted to make a stir fry so I did a quick Google search for pork chop stir fry. I used this recipe as my template.

Ingredients

Marinade:

  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • dash of red cooking wine
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper

I chopped up the pork chops (I had two) into bite size pieces, mixed with the marinade and let it sit for 1/2 hour. I just noticed that the recipe said to leave it at room temperature for that time. I didn’t read that last night and put mine in the fridge. Didn’t seem to hurt it any.

Stir Fry:

  • splash of olive oil in the pan for frying the pork
  • ground ginger – few shakes in the pan
  • 1 tbsp chili paste
  • teriyaki sauce (used about 4 tbsp)
  • green bell pepper (about 3/4 of a pepper)
  • red bell pepper (about 3/4 of a pepper)
  • one sweet onion
  • one green onion
  • two little mysterious peppers from our pepper plant
  • 1/4 cup toasted silvered almonds
  • chopped fresh mint (I know, different, right? It was good though.)

I toasted the almonds on medium heat in the wok while I waited for the pork to marinate and I chopped up my vegetables.

When the pork was ready, I fished it out of the marinade (discarded the marinade) and cooked the pork on medium heat, adding in the ginger and the chili paste.

Once the pork was fully cooked I added my onion and let that go until the onions turned translucent. Then I added the teriyaki sauce and let it go a little longer.

Then I added in the peppers and green onion and let it all blend for about five or ten minutes before serving.

I had processed some cauliflower to make rice Monday night (we thought we were going to make this then but time got away from us and we went with a quicker sausage and steamed vegetable dinner that night.)

So I heated up our “rice” and we dished up, sprinkling the almonds and mint over the top of the dish.

It was GOOD. (Channeling Jim Carrey from Bruce Almighty.)

I don’t like gourmet cooking or “this” cooking or “that” cooking. I like good cooking.
~ James Beard

What do you think?

