Visualize Success

You know that saying, visualize success? Well, I have this habit of doing just the opposite sometimes. I visualize myself being a klutz.

This greatly increases the likelihood that I will be a klutz.

For example, one of my biggest (little) fears is that I am going to knock over my glass (of water, wine, what-have-you), kind of like I did recently. When I was dating back in the day, I was always afraid I would knock over my drink at restaurants. I think I actually did once.

In another, much more potentially dangerous example, I imagine myself falling down the stairs at work. Almost every day.

I work on the second floor. No elevators, just stairs. And no bathroom on my floor. So I make about 10 trips up and down the stairs, daily, for bathroom stops, to get the mail which is downstairs, to get supplies from our storage area downstairs, or sometimes just to stretch my legs.

Almost every time I approach the stairs, I think about tripping and falling. I imagine the catastrophe that would be a full-blown face plant or tumble down the stairs. And then I try to squash the thoughts and focus on NOT tripping.

Really? Why do I do this to myself? Do I think that thinking about it will somehow raise my awareness and help me avoid the situation? I think that some little part of my brain thinks this and is controlling these thoughts. Another much more sensible side of my mind knows that obsessively thinking about these things, can create self-fulfilling prophecies. Just like visualizing success can increase your chances of success, so too can you increase your chances of failure or accident if you think about those things too often.

If I know this, why can’t I turn off this little annoying habit of mine?

The ideal man bears the accidents of life with dignity and grace, making the best of circumstances.
~ Aristotle

2 comments

  1. I am right there with you! I also imagine myself falling down the stairs and breaking things. The most bizarre is when I go outside I have a fear that a semi is going to come barreling down the street and overturn on me. I’ve come thisclose to this very thing happening several times.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by and subscribing! My goodness – don’t be hit by a semi! That’s way more scary than falling down the stairs. (Or up them which I’ve been known to do once or twice before too.) 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

