Curried Meatballs and Captain America

I’ve been wanting to try out a new recipe for Curried Meatballs (adapted from this recipe) and I finally got a chance to make them last night. They were pretty darn good!

Don was skeptical and kept giving me a hard time about what we were going to eat with them, how they were to be cooked, etc. I swear, next time I want to cook, I’m not telling him what I’m doing ahead of time.

The meatballs are pretty simple to make but you have to get a little messy. Mix the following with your hands and form your meatballs, a little larger than golf ball size.

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 3/4 cup finely diced red onion
  • 1/2 cup apple finely diced
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • ½ tablespoon sea salt
  • Fresh ground black pepper to taste

Put ’em in the oven in a glass or ceramic dish on 400 degrees and bake for about 25 minutes. (We also broiled them to brown the tops a bit, for maybe 5-10 minutes checking frequently until they were looking the way we liked.) After baking, take them out and add them to your sauce on the stove.

For the sauce I used:

  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons garlic
  • a squirt of honey
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1/2  cup chicken broth

The recipe says to cook them in the sauce for 5 -10 minutes but we left ours on much longer, eventually turning the burner down to warm while we waited for the cauliflower we were roasting in the oven.

First time doing that. Yum. I especially like the flavor of the parmesan cheese on the cauliflower.

And…voilà!

I give you curried meatballs, roasted cauliflower, and green beans.

Even Don liked it. He was having issues getting past the idea of eating meatballs without the pasta. Silly boy.

We also made it out to the movies yesterday to see Captain America in 3D. It was good. Don loved it. I liked Thor better, I don’t know why. But I LOVED the trailer after the end credits for The Avengers, due out in May 2012! I am so stoked to see that! There’s been so much build up for so long now, I sure hope it delivers.

People with many interests live, not only longest, but happiest.
~ George Matthew Allen

2 comments

  1. I’m glad I read your take on Captain America, because I’ll know to hang out till credits are done! (If I go with Ba.D., that’s a given, but if I go by myself I tend to leave the theater a few seconds into credits.) I’d love a chance to watch it this weekend, but there’s usual a month-long lag between when I want to watch a movie and when I get to watch it.

    I loved Thor as well. My only complaint, upon leaving the theater, was that I felt Thor should have been shirtless throughout.

    Like

  2. I’m excited that you ( and your husband ) liked the meatballs! My husband was skeptical about eating them without actual pasta too. But he liked them! Ha! Silly boy 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

