Spam. The meat, not the junk mail.

Spam has such a bad rap.

You might not know that Spam is made from chopped pork shoulder meat, ham meat, salt, water, sugar, and sodium nitrate. It’s really not a “mystery food” or all the leftover parts of the pig.

Believe it or not, there are entire cookbooks out there, dedicated to recipes using Spam. It’s great for soup, sandwiches, salads, casseroles, omelets, you name it. I think of it this way, if ham could be used, then Spam could be used just as well.

I know. You’re thinking I’ve really lost it. I was much like you and though “eeew” when I heard the word Spam, until a few years ago when I finally gave it a chance. If I’m really honest, I would have to admit that I had no real reason to say “eeew” – it’s not like I had tried it and disliked it. Instead, I was just perpetuating the idea that it was not good, based on hearing that from others (who more than likely had never tried it either.)

I won’t say it’s the best thing I’ve ever tasted. I don’t crave the taste (I think Don does.) But it’s good. We used to make breakfast sandwiches with muffins, a slice of Spam, and an egg.

Since bread is no longer a staple in our house, this weekend the Spam was our “bread.”

Making these little beauties is simple. Cut four slices of Spam (if you’re making two sandwiches.) Use a skillet to fry them till they are brown. Keep an eye on them and be careful of the heat. I’ve overcooked it before, which dries it out a bit.

Whisk your egg with your desired flavors and ingredients (salt, pepper, cayenne, milk, etc.) and pour into a small dish and microwave for one minute. (We use little glass dishes that are the size of an english muffin. They work great for shaping your egg just the right size for a sandwich.)

Don had Hawaii on the brain (some say Spam is Hawaii’s “soul food”) and added these new flavors to our eggs this weekend.

  • One egg
  • 1 tbsp of roughly chopped macadamia nuts
  • 1 tbsp of shredded coconut
  • dash of almond milk
  • salt and pepper

I’m proud to say, this experiment was a success! I could really taste the coconut and the nuts, but they were not overpowering. It was just the right bit flavor to give it something different.

I encourage you to try Spam! In lieu of a cookbook, here are a couple of websites with recipes to get you started.

Spam.com

SpamRecipes.net

The other great thing about Spam is its shelf life. It’s great to stock up on for emergency situations. And you can bet that if the zombie apocalypse ever comes, we will be hording our cans of Spam. 😉

Never be afraid to try something new.  Remember, amateurs built the ark; professionals built the Titanic. 
~ Author Unknown

One comment

  1. What an insightful blog on Spam! It made me hungry!! I liked it as a kid when that was all the meat we could afford, but haven’t eaten it in awhile. May have to now after your fun blog.

    Thanks for your comment on my 100 followers. Funny how I never thought I’d do a blog, and now that I’m blogging away, I can’t think of NOT doing it!

    Hope all is well, Spam or not =-)

    xo
    Gwynnie

    Like

What do you think?

