Reading Corner – Barefoot, 30 Day Challenge

I finished Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand last night. I was unimpressed. In fact I was skimming over it for the latter half of the book because at times the descriptions rambled and I just wasn’t interested. I didn’t connect with the characters either. I had read a lot of good reviews so I hung in there, waiting for that moment that it would all come together and wow me, but that never happened. It was ok for light reading and I can see how it might appeal to some, but it just wasn’t for me.

I am so excited to start my next book, A Dance With Dragons, the latest installment of the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin. (The story behind the recent HBO series Game of Thrones.) Thanks to Colynn for loaning me her brand new copy of the book that she hasn’t even read yet!

This book is ginormous people. It weighs 3 pounds! Yes, I weighed it. It is going to be challenging to read while riding the stationary bike. Never fear, I will prevail. 😉

I’m a little uncertain about diving in without refreshing over the previous books. I’m afraid I’ll have forgotten details that would have enriched my reading if I were to go back and re-read the previous books. But, I don’t have the patience to go back through them, nor do I own copies so I’m going to give it a go on this one and hope that Martin included enough past details to help me recall things as I go along.

Can’t wait to start reading!

While we are talking books, I’ll include day 4 on the book reflection challenge.

Day 4: Characters you hate

Offhand I’d say…

Cersei and Jamie Lannister in the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

Galbatorix in the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

Elaida do Avriny a’Roihan in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

The habit of reading is the only enjoyment in which there is no alloy; it lasts when all other pleasures fade.
~ Anthony Trollope

One comment

What do you think?

