Biscuits and gravy and a license to post less frequently

I’ve decided to ditch the post a day agenda. I’ve been prepping posts in advance and trying to do what I can to help myself meet the goal of posting every day with little to no stress but even so, there have been a few days that I’ve felt pressed to get something posted when I’ve just been a little too busy with other things. I don’t really like the added stress. So I’ve decided to let that go and just post when I want to post and when I’ve really got something to say. There may be times when that means I’m still posting every day, because let’s face it, sometimes I do have a lot to share, but there may also be days that I don’t post and I think I’m ok with that now. I have a sneaky suspicion that my subscribers will be more than ok with that too. 😛

That said, I made biscuits and gravy this morning and it was A-mazing! I know biscuits and gravy are not 100% primal, but we aren’t going for 100% all the time anyway. I tried to keep our carbs down by using Pillsbury’s new Simply Buttermilk Biscuits – 15 carbs per biscuit – and we each only had one and 1/2 biscuit. The gravy I adapted from a recipe I found here.

I used:

  • about 3 oz  cream cheese
  • about 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • salt and pepper to taste

Similar to my fellow blogger, I browned my sausage (about a pound of homemade sausage) and then added the coconut flour which immediately dried up the pan. I then added the cream cheese but it wasn’t melting well and my pan was crusting over at the bottom because it was so dry. So I added a bit of water to de-glaze the pan. The water eventually cooked down and I added the almond milk.

I simmered it for about 10-15 minutes with a lid. Then I took the lid off and let it continue to simmer while the biscuits baked for 14 minutes. The cream cheese took a long time to really break down and be fully incorporated but in the end it all came together really well.

It was awesome. I really couldn’t taste a difference in this gravy from any traditional gravy, it was just as good if not better. I wish I could show you how we made the sausage because it’s got all sorts of herbs and spices as well as jalapeno in it and it is really what packs some amazing flavor into the dish. But the last time we made a batch I must have been doing other things because I didn’t document our process. I’ll get it next time around.

Savory seasonings stimulate the appetite.
~ Latin Proverb

3 comments

  1. I’ll be curious to see how you feel a few weeks out! After I ditched my daily posting regime and settled on a twice-weekly commitment, I felt much better about blogging. Often I do end up posting every day, but I don’t feel obligated to–which means I end up liking those things I do post a whole lot more, because they’re born out of desire instead of force!

    Like

What do you think?

