Almond Coconut Fudge

Last night I tried something new to fulfill Don’s daily chocolatey cravings. The recipe comes from The Primal Blueprint Reader-Created Coconut Recipe Cookbook. I can’t find it online to be able to provide a link to the original recipe so I’ll just tell you where I diverged from the original.

Ingredients:

  • the chocolate – the recipe called for 4 oz of unsweetened baker’s chocolate. I only had 1 oz so I substituted with the Toll House Chocolatier Dark Chocolate for the rest. All in all, the amount I used I think amounted to a little more than 4 oz of chocolate
  • 1 cup of coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup almond butter – about a tbsp of that was dark chocolate almond butter, the rest was regular almond butter (original recipe was for 1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • a few drizzles of honey
  • about 2/3 roughly chopped walnuts (original was 1/2 cup)
  • about 1/2 cup shredded coconut (not in the original recipe but the author recommended use of coconut, dried fruit, or other such additions for added flavor or texture)
  • about a tbsp of sugar in the raw (also not in the original recipe)

This was incredibly easy to make! Only took me about 10 minutes even though it was the first time making it.

Start by heating the coconut milk and chocolate pieces in a saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring consistently. Once entirely melted and incorporated, add your vanilla, almond butter, sugar, and honey, and continue to stir. Again, once fully incorporated, add the nuts and coconut. Looks a bit like this:

I have only one square baking dish that would have been perfect to set up the fudge in but it is currently still occupied by breakfast casserole in the fridge. So I opted for the next best thing, I hoped.

It makes for awkward cutting, I know. But what’s a girl to do when you don’t have enough resources? I know I could have taken the time to take the casserole out of the other dish, setting it up in individual serving sized tupperwares, wash the dish, and then I could use it for the fudge. But I thought that was just silly.

The recipe calls for cooling in the fridge for 2-3 hours. I made it just before bed so it stayed in all night. I was worried it would be rock hard but I don’t think that’s possible with these ingredients. It’s very soft and difficult to cut. I was going to cut it into nice squares but after cutting a few pieces and seeing how soft it is, I’ve opted to leaving it in the dish for Don to cut as he pleases when he wants some.

Which, by the way, Don declares it a success. I gave him a piece this morning and his response was, “mmm, it’s good.” That’s a thumbs up with Don. Usually.

Me, I don’t like it. I don’t like chocolate much anyway and the fact that it’s dark chocolate turns me off even more. I tried it, but it’s too bitter for me. I’m glad he likes it. That was the whole reason for making it. Give me some cake, sugar cookies, snickerdoodles, or the like any day, you can have the chocolate.

Any sane person loves chocolate.
~ Bob Greene

 

What do you think?

