Coconut Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies, Spicy Cucumber Salad

I’ve been trying some new recipes lately but I’ve not been taking the time to get pictures. Bad blogger!

I thought I’d share anyway because these were fun, tasty finds.

First, because I’m low on almond flour and too broke to buy more right now, and because I’ve got a plethora of coconut flour to use anyway, I’ve been on the prowl for a coconut flour cookie recipe. (I’m in love with my almond flour chocolate chip cookies and needed a substitute.) I found these little gems. I made one little addition and added about 2 tsps of almond butter, because it’s so yummy. I love these almost as much as the almond flour cookies. The one thing I would say is that the original recipe’s instruction to roll into a ball, then flatten, is highly recommended. I just left them balls and they don’t flatten out on their own in the oven. So if you want a semblance of a normal cookie shape, flatten your dough a bit before baking. Here’s the how-to:

Coconut Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tsps almond butter (I might actually use a little more next time too)
  • dash of salt
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (I used a little more than the original recipe because a little extra chocolate never hurts)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Mix the coconut oil, vanilla extract, eggs, almond butter, and almond milk together in one bowl.
  3. Stir the sugar, coconut flour and salt together in another bowl.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until combined.
  5. Add the chocolate chips.
  6. Scoop dough, roll into a ball, and flatten. Place on preferred baking sheet/dish/stone.
  7. Bake for about 20 minutes until lightly brown.

On a completely different note, I made a wonderfully sweet and spicy cucumber salad last night. This recipe came to me from Our Best Bites. I saw this new post to their site via fb on Friday. They titled it Sweet and Spicy Cucumber Slices, I like to think of it more like a salad. Regardless it was fresh and delightful. We had dinner guests last night and they were as pleased with the results as we were.

WARNING – making the marinade is like making pepper spray in your house. Be prepared. 😛

Spicy Cucumber Salad

2 large cucumbers (or three medium)
2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 cup rice vinegar
1/2 cup water
3 tbsp sugar
almost a tbsp red pepper flakes (the original recipe called for 1/4 tsp but we like the spicy!)
3 tbsp minced red onion

Peel your cucumber. (We like to leave strips of the skin for color and a little texture.) Slice about 1/4 inch thick and then slice rounds in half. Place slices in a colander over a bowl, sprinkle with salt and toss well.  Let sit for 1 hour refrigerated.  While cucumber slices are draining, prepare the marinade.

Combine vinegar, water, sugar and red pepper in a small saucepan; bring to a boil. (Make sure the fan in your hood vent is on and don’t breathe the fumes if you can help it. LOL) Once boiling, reduce heat and cook for about 10 minutes. Should reduce down to about 1/3 cup liquid. Remove from heat and add your diced red onion.  Let cool to room temp and let rest until ready to add to cucumbers.

When cucumbers are done resting, pat them dry with a few paper towels and add the vinegar reduction. Toss well. Chill for one hour (or longer) to allow flavors to combine. It was an excellent pairing with grilled steaks and asparagus.

I did take a pic of the bit of leftovers this morning. I wish I had taken a shot last night of the whole dish in the white mixing bowl. It was so much prettier but this is still something I guess.

This morning I’ve made biscuits and gravy again but this time I made the gravy with one can of evaporated milk, one can of water, and about 4 tbsp of coconut flour. The coconut flour does give the gravy a bit of a grainy texture but it still tastes great. It took far longer to thicken than I would have liked but that’s the way of gravy sometimes. I think maybe only 1/2 can of water would be enough and it would thicken quicker. Why did I change from my last recipe? I don’t have any cream cheese right now.

For those of you viewing this on the site and not in your email, what do you think of the new look? There were limitations to the other theme I was using and I’ve been waiting for a new theme to be designed that might work better. This one has a few fun elements that I really like but it too has a few limitations I can’t control as well. I’m trying to decide the lesser of the two evils. So, any thoughts?

Preparing food is not just about yourself and others. It is about everything!
~Shunryu Suzuki

2 comments

What do you think?

