Movies! The Warrior’s Way, Arthur, Source Code

The Warrior’s Way
What a different movie. This is a fantasy action flick about an assassin who, after refusing a mission, retreats to an old west town in America in an attempt to hide from his enemies and start a new life. The story is a little weak, there’s a bit too much CGI, and some over-indulgent tinkering with color, but we still enjoyed it. It’s hard not to like swordfighting. The movie also had a slightly off-kilter feel, a cleverness that although not executed flawlessly, still gave it a fun, original edge over other current choices in the pool of new releases these days.

Arthur
Eh, Arthur was ok. I laughed. It had a great cast which helped hold it together I think. I never saw the original but I’ve read a lot of negative press that this was a sad attempt at a remake that just didn’t quite make the cut for most people. If you like Russell Brand or enjoy crude humor, you’ll probably get a few laughs out of this movie. But don’t expect it to wow you or be something you’d be willing to watch more than once.

Source Code
I liked this movie but it made my head hurt. 😛  I’m not going to even attempt to explain the story in this one because I don’t want to spoil any of the fun. I think it’s worth seeing. It was engaging, I felt for the characters (although Don said partway through that he wasn’t connecting to the characters but he liked it anyway), and it kept you guessing. I’m still not quite sure I can wrap my mind around the way it ended but that’s part of what made it interesting too.

The movies we love and admire are to some extent a function of who we are when we see them.
~ Mary Schmich 

3 comments

  1. We tried to watch Source Code three times and every time my husband literally fell asleep 10 minutes into it. Freaking trains are blowing up and he’s falling asleep. Now every time he sees Jake Gyllenhall’s face or hears his name he pretends to fall asleep, which is pretty funny.

    Like

What do you think?

