Dinner and a finished book

I’m back! 😛

Sorry that I’ve been MIA for a couple of weeks. Don and I went on an extended trip to visit family and friends in Washington State – we had a fabulous time! I hope to post some pics and some stories in the coming days but as of now, we still haven’t even looked through all the pictures we took – that’s how busy it’s been just getting readjusted to our regular routine. We’ve been busy re-stocking the fridge and pantry, catching up on laundry, other odd jobs and chores that need attending, and just trying to get some rest and adjust back to the central time zone.

I was not sure how to make a re-appearance here but thankfully Don threw together a totally random dinner last night and it turned out so delicious that I knew I had to share it. I say random because it wasn’t something we found recipes for, it was his own blend of putting things together that we had on hand and I was truly amazed because they were new combinations we’d never had before, and I wouldn’t think to combine if I hadn’t had a recipe. But that’s the beauty of Don in the kitchen. He just seems to know what goes well together.

I was busy doing other things while he prepared so I didn’t get all the usual pictures of ingredients, process, and final product, but the meal is very simple so I thought it would still be worth sharing. All you need is some sausage (we used this kind from Walmart – yum!), green beans (fresh would be great but last night’s were canned), onions, cream of mushroom soup, bacon, garlic, bbq sauce, and spices as desired.

I wasn’t watching with my full attention when he got started but I’m pretty sure Don seared the sausage on medium-high heat to warm them up and to crisp the outside a little. Then he sliced them up and put them in a pan with bbq sauce to simmer while he worked on the veggie side of things.

For the veggies, he sliced up an onion (large pieces) and layered it on the bottom of the pan. Then he added a can of green beans and about half a can of cream of mushroom soup. He also cooked up a few pieces of bacon that once cooled he cut into bacon bits and added to the pan. We never cook without garlic so I’m sure he put a little garlic in there as well as I think some cayenne or other spices because they came out packed with spicy flavor. You could call it a modified green bean casserole.

He let this cook for probably 30+ minutes, or until the onions turned translucent and soft. Both were such simple dishes that we were able to leave them on the stove simmering until we were ready to sit down to eat. A great option for when you don’t have a lot of time to slave over a complicated or unfamiliar dish.

For my reader update, I finished reading Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keys while we were traveling. Unfortunately I must report that I did not enjoy it. The plot was depressing – to me anyway. I kept with it hoping that something would turn around or some wonderful ah-ha moment would take place that would make all my reading worthwhile. But I waitied in vain. I think I may be one of the random few that didn’t like this book so don’t let me put you off it if you’d like to give it a try. Many readers report positive reviews online. It’s just my two cents that I thought it was dull and depressing.

Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting.
~ Edmund Burke

What do you think?

