Movie Monday! TMHT, Your Highness, Something Borrowed

Three good movies in a row! That’s a first in a while.

Take Me Home Tonight
This move drowns you in 80’s nostalgia. I expected that going in but I was still overwhelmed by the bad hair, the dreadful clothes, the sunglasses at night, and the music, ah the music. I can’t decide if the music of the 80’s was truly awful or just goofy. The comedy in this flick was often too silly or dumb for my taste, but there were a few times that I laughed.  What I liked best about this movie was the struggle that the main character faces in terms of finding a direction in life. The plot of the story is hyper focused on his desire to get the phone number of his high school crush, but the larger theme is that he doesn’t know what he wants to do with his life and his fear of taking a chance on something holds him back from doing anything. There were some really touching moments between him and his father that I thought were more meaningful than all the other nonsense sprinkled throughout the movie. Would I watch it again? Probably not. Still, I felt like I took something away from it all the same.

Your Highness
This movie was a kick in the pants! It made me think of Monty Python and the Holy Grail – not that I’ve ever been able to sit through that whole movie. But Your Highness makes fun of fantasy in a similar fashion and I thought it was a riot. It was silly, over the top, and fun. It will never replace The Princess Bride in my book of silly fantasy movies but it was well worth viewing at least once.

Something Borrowed
Chick flick galore. I spared Don the agony and watched this while he was on duty. He would be thankful. Not to say that I didn’t like it, I just know he would have hated it. I really liked it. I had read the book but I couldn’t remember who ended up with whom and it was fun to re-experience it all on screen. I thought they did a great job keeping with the original story – at least as much of it as I could remember. And I enjoyed the casting choices. If you like romantic comedies, don’t leave this one off your list.

For me, the cinema is not a slice of life, but a piece of cake.
~ Alfred Hitchcock

2 comments

  1. I’m not often in the mood for romantic comedies, but I’ve been in the mood for one for a few days now. A girlfriend recently recommended Something Borrowed. which, added with your recommendation, means that’s likely a go for the next day or two!

    Like

What do you think?

