A Delightful Chicken Dish

I came across this recipe last week and knew I HAD to try it. It looked so easy. Don was on duty and I wanted to make something that would leave enough leftovers that he would not have to cook the next day when he was home. (He’s the real cook in the family. I always enjoy seeing him throw things together.)

First I gathered the necessary things…(modified a little based on things we had or personal preferences)

5 chicken thighs
2 onions
3 bell peppers
heaping tbsp of minced garlic
1 can of Rotel (available at your local grocery store)
1 chicken bouillon cube
grated mozzarella
parmesan cheese
1 tbsp Italian herbs
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup cream
pinch nutmeg
pepper
salt

…and prepped all the foods.

I browned the chicken a bit on the stove with a little olive oil.

I moved the chicken to the baking dish and commenced reducing my onions to sweet yumminess.

I added those to the pan with the chicken.

Time for the bell peppers.

Move those over, making sure to get some onions under the chicken and to spread all the goodness out evenly in the pan.

Next, it was time for the sauce. I combined the garlic, water, Rotel, cream, bouillon cube, italian spices, nutmeg, salt, and pepper and simmered on the stove for about five minutes.

I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to thicken more than it did but I just went with it and moved it to the oven pan.

OMG, looking good.

This went in the oven for about 30 minutes then came out for a good covering of mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Then back in the oven for 15 minutes, and voila!

The sauce was thin (I’m sure I did something wrong) but it tasted amazing. And it was even better the next day with Don! I give this recipe two thumbs up and I hope to make it again, perhaps inproving upon my sauce and using some different cheeses.

In the strict scientific sense we all feed on death – even vegetarians. 
~ Mr. Spock, Star Trek, “Wolf in the Fold”

One comment

  1. Hi Jessica.
    Thanks for dropping by too. I’m quite a chicken eater and this recipe seems interesting and simple to prepare. Works great for a novice like me. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

