Pumpkin Walnut Muffins – Paleo Style

It’s officially fall, Halloween decorations are out (already!) and I’ve got pumpkin on the brain. I recently experimented with Pumpkin Pancakes and today I’d like to tell you about a recipe for Pumpkin Muffins. I LIKE ’em!

Thanks to BalancedBites.com for the original recipe. I haven’t done much to it except add about a cup of walnuts, and some chocolate chips. I don’t like the chocolate chips, but Don does. To each his own.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour (I get mine from NutsOnline)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch salt
  • 1 cup roughly chopped walnuts (I’m such a goober, I forgot to put those in the picture!)

Here’s what you do:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Grease your muffin pan or use liners (I sprayed my pan with olive oil, hence the little dark drops in the second photo down)
  • Combine wet ingredients in a large mixing bowl: butter, eggs, vanilla, pumpkin, honey, and maple syrup
  • Sift dry ingredients together and add to wet mixture:  coconut flour, baking powder, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg
  • Mix well and break up any lumps
  • Add walnuts
  • Divide the batter evenly into pan – a 1/4 cup scoop is handy for this, seems to be just the right amount for each cup
  • Add chocolate chips to top if you like chocolate (I think they are way better without them!) 🙂

  • Bake for approximately 15-18 minutes (mine went for 18)

I like ’em best, right out of the oven. Mmm…  🙂

They refidgerate and reheat really well. I would suggest that over leaving them out unless they are going to be eaten within a day or two. My first batch sat out and after a few days they tasted a little bitter. My second batch, reheated for about 15 seconds, tastes beautiful, almost right out of the oven.

If you are ever at a loss to support a flagging conversation, introduce the subject of eating. 
~ Leigh Hunt

One comment

What do you think?

