Another Pizza Experiment

We’ve made a zucchini pizza crust before, you can check it out here if interested. It can be a little time-consuming and messy but if you have the time, it is outstanding. I would have never imagined a vegetable could stand in for pizza crust.

If the zucchini crust is so great, why am I trying something else you say? Well, for the fun of it. I saw this recipe recently and I just wanted to give it a try to see how it compared.

To make the pizza crust you need the following:

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 425 and start with the dry ingredients. Mix the coconut flour, baking soda and powder, garlic and onion powders, and your salt and pepper.

Then add your eggs and coconut milk.

The mixture will look a bit like pancake batter but don’t panic. Let it sit for 2-3 minutes; it will thicken up.

Then pour the mixture onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Try to spread it out evenly.

Then bake. The original recipe says 20-22 minutes. I think I let mine go for about 25. Here’s how it looked:

It smelled great too. Now, comes the tricky part. You need to flip it. I’ve got an oversized cutting board that works great for this (and for the zucchini crust because you have to do the same with that one.) Lay the board over the top of the tray. Holding with a pot holder from under the tray, flip them over so the crust is now on the cutting board. Take off the tray. Peel off the parchment. Then slide, pick up, use spatulas, whatever works for you to get the crust back onto the tray. Be careful so you don’t tear or break the crust. Since I was home alone during this experiment I can’t show you the flip trick but here’s the end result:

Now, make your pizza! My toppings of choice were:

Here is where I diverged a lot from the original recipe. I have a totally different combination of toppings…

…and I did not broil it. I didn’t trust that the cheese would not melt too fast or burn before the meats underneath could warm up. I read up on the baking of traditional pizzas on other sites and decided to continue to bake it at the same temperature, checking every five minutes. In the end I baked it for about 12 minutes at 425. This may have greatly changed the composition of how the crust bakes, I’m not sure. The end product looked beautiful and smelled wonderful.

But the crust was not crunchy or crispy like a thin pizza crust should be. It was cooked through, and tasted wonderful, but it lacked that crunch I like with my pizza. I’m not sure if broiling it would have accomplished that, or if perhaps the tomato sauce soaked into the crust and kept it soft. The sauce did sort of act like a barrier between the toppings and the crust; the toppings slipped right off some pieces while I was cutting them. I noticed that Juli did not use sauce on her pizza, rather she brushed hers with olive oil. So perhaps the sauce was my mistake. I’m just not sure.

I know I might be making this sound somewhat unappealing and I don’t mean to give that impression. I just want to be completely fair about how it turned out. Despite all these things, it did taste amazing and did totally fulfill my craving for pizza. It warmed up great as leftovers and I ate the whole thing myself for lunches and dinners last week. I hope to try it again sometime to see if I can get the crust to be more crispy and to my liking. If I figure it out, I’ll post an update. 🙂

Ideas are like pizza dough, made to be tossed around.
~ Anna Quindlen

What do you think?

