Movie Monday: Red Riding Hood and a finished book

Our movie viewing is slow lately but we did watch Red Riding Hood last week. I would not recommend it. It wasn’t the worst thing I’ve ever seen but generally speaking I didn’t like it. I will admit that it kept me guessing who the wolf (werewolf) was so I guess they did something well but that’s not saying much. My biggest beef with it was that they really didn’t set the scene well in the beginning. I couldn’t tell if the village was supposed to be in our world or an alternative fantasy world. When there was a scene with forest trees – with ginormous thorns – I pretty much decided it was an alternate world. I’d heard the movie likened to Twilight when it was in the theaters, but I would not say that I saw many similarities myself, other than the overt similarity of a girl torn between two loves – although this girl adamantly didn’t love one so it really wasn’t a contest. It wasn’t the longing love story that I expected – thank goodness for small favors. There was a love story yes, but more prominent was the mystery of unmasking the wolf who lived among the villagers.

On a more positive note, I finished reading She Who Remembers; I enjoyed it immensely! So much so that I read all 470 pages in less than a week. I try not to read too fast because I want to enjoy the story as I go along, but if I’m reading every chance I get that’s always a good sign. As it turns out, this is the first of a trilogy by author Linda Lay Shuler so I”ll be adding the next two books to my “want to read” list. If you enjoy historical fiction and you’ve read things like Clan of the Cave Bear or similar prehistory novels, then you would enjoy this story set in 13th Century American Southwest.

The greatest gift is a passion for reading.
~ Elizabeth Hardwick

What do you think?

