Reusable Air Filters – Save Money and Reduce Waste

I’ve got another eco-product recommendation for folks. Reusable air filters.

We found EcoFilter at Target one day by chance and we’ve never regretted it. In fact, every month when I take the filter out, vacuum the dust and hair from it, rinse it thoroughly in the sink, and hang it out to dry, I marvel at how wonderful it is to not throw the filter away and install a new one.

I’m sure there are plenty of competitor products available but since the EcoFilter is the only one I have experience with, I’m going to tell you what I know about it and suggest that you get your booty out there and replace your throw-away filters for ones that last.

We have the standard EcoFilter model, but there is another even longer life option called the EcoFilter Plus. The model we have is guaranteed for six years with proper monthly cleaning and has a MERV 7 rating (translation – pretty darn good for the average consumer home.) You can get detailed information on MERV ratings on this website. The EcoFilter Plus is guaranteed for TEN years and has a MERV 8 rating.

Let’s look at those numbers again. Six year life = 72 standard monthly replacements (or 24 if you pony up the money for better filters that last 90 days but you’re still replacing those 4 times a year.) Ten year life = 120 monthly replacements (40 quarterly replacements.) How much money does that cost to buy replacements that often? And that’s just for one filter. I don’t know about your house, but we have two filters in ours so double all those numbers if we were replacing them and throwing away the filters every time. Am I making my point? Check out how much waste can be reduced by one simple change. Sure, it takes me about 10 minutes to clean the filters every month. But really, 10 minutes of my time versus piles and piles of air filters in landfills. That’s a no-brainer for me.

Don and I both suffer from allergies to dust and cat dander (imagine that since we have 2) and these filters do an outstanding job of keeping our air clean – if cleaned monthly of course. We actually noticed an improvement over the throw away filters when we first installed the EcoFilters. I’m sure that was partly due to buying lower rated throw-aways but I think it shows that the EcoFilter is superior to traditional filter systems.

If you aren’t convinced that EcoFilter is right for you, I encourage you to shop around and find an eco solution that does work for you. This might be a way for you to incorporate a waste reducing solution to your home. Every little bit makes a difference. Remember, re-purpose old items, reuse what you can, and recycle as much as you can!

The case for recycling is strong. The bottom line is clear. Recycling requires a trivial amount of our time. Recycling saves money and reduces pollution. Recycling creates more jobs than land-filling or incineration. And a largely ignored but very important consideration, recycling reduces our need to dump our garbage in someone else’s backyard.
~ David Morris of the Institute for Local Self-Reliance

One comment

  1. I feel the same way about my cloth diapers. I was cleaning a poopy one today and thought I should be grossed out and annoyed but I wasn’t. All I could think is that I am not putting carcinogens on my baby’s butt, I’m saving all that waste from going into a landfill, and when I run out of diapers, I just do laundry. It’s practically free.

    If I ever need an air filter, I will definitely be looking at this product.

    Like

What do you think?

