Movie Monday – The Eagle

Well my oven has been on the fritz this past week, so I haven’t been able to make a new recipe I’ve been eager to try. Hopefully that will get ironed out in the coming week.

For now, I’ve got a Movie Monday update for you. Last week we watched The Eagle. In short, a Roman era movie in which a young soldier seeks to restore his family’s name by reclaiming something lost by his father in years past. I didn’t really know anything about the movie when we picked it up but I generally enjoy stories with a historical angle (historical fiction is one of my favorite choices for reading) so we gave it a chance. I really liked it. I’d like to say Don did too but he fell asleep and missed more than half the movie. In the movie’s defense, Don had been up since 5 am and been on duty for the three days before so really, odds were against his being able to stay awake regardless of the movie. He did like what he did see. Unfortunately we rented from a Blockbuster Express Kiosk (like RedBox – I just happen to have some free movie coupons for Blockbuster right now.) So, in keeping with the rules of renting from these types of vendors, we had to return the movie by 9 pm the next day and he didn’t have time to watch the other half before we returned it. But getting back to the movie, I liked the costumes and the cultures presented throughout the film. I could see many things in visual form with this film that are also being described in the book I’m currently reading (Voice of the Eagle) and that was especially fascinating for me. All of my rambling aside, if you like adventure and drama you might like this movie.

I also want to take a moment to brag that Don had a very successful hunting weekend – two hog and one doe. I’m so excited my eyes might burst out of my head. We really needed to replenish our meat supply and I am so thankful.

I do not hunt for the joy of killing but for the joy of living, and the inexpressible pleasure of mingling my life however briefly, with that of a wild creature that I respect, admire and value.
– John Madson

What do you think?

