Movie Monday – Horrible Bosses, Fast Five

Horrible Bosses is about three friends conspiring against their bosses, which is more than I knew when I picked up the movie. All I knew was that the movie was packed full of popular actors and that, clearly from the title, the story had something to do with people having horrible bosses. It was very dark humor. It brought movies like Heathers to mind. But it was funny. We laughed. We though some parts were dumb. It wasn’t a riot fest or a story with real staying power for me that I could watch over and over again. But it was entertaining. Good writing. Quick dialogue. I would recommend it if you like silly humor. If you’re more inclined toward dramas or mysteries then I would suggest you pass on this movie.

Fast Five is the latest installment in The Fast and Furious story; one that doesn’t really appeal much to me. I don’t even think I’ve seen 3 or 4. Don enjoys the movies so this was a trade-off for me picking Horrible Bosses the day before. Fast Five was ok. It starts off with a bang, insane action sequences that leave me questioning the laws of physics and that don’t fully draw me in. But then the movie slowed down and even Don commented that it’s not like the other movies. There’s not much racing in it. It rings too similar to Ocean’s Eleven and The Italian Job. If you’re a Fast and Furious movie buff then I’m sure this movie is on your must see list. But I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone else. Personally, I’d rather see another installment of The Chronicles of Riddick with Vin Diesel.

Culture relates to objects and is a phenomenon of the world; entertainment relates to people and is a phenomenon of life.
~ Hannah Arendt

What do you think?

