Reading Corner – Let The Drum Speak

I have finished book three of the Linda Lay Shuler series that I have been reading. Unfortunately, I’m glad to be done with Let the Drum Speak. I didn’t enjoy this installment as much as the first two, and of all three I still say I liked the second one the best. The third book moved beyond the main characters that were prominent in books one and two and followed the life of Kwani’s daughter Antelope. I just didn’t connect to Antelope as well as I did Kwani. The story was still rich in history of the Pueblo tribes of late 13th Century Southwest America but I was not as compelled by the story this time. Maybe I just burned out on the time period and should have read something vastly different in between. As it is, I’m moving on now. Having scoured my bookshelf looking for something more fun and light, I picked out Little Earthquakes by Jennifer Weiner. So far, it’s a nice change of pace.

Happy Reading!

There is creative reading as well as creative writing.
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

What do you think?

