A Meatloaf Experiment

Last night I experimented with this recipe for paleo meatloaf, but I used venison instead of beef. It turned out to be more like a pile of meat than a loaf (perhaps the leanness of the meat prevented loaf-type cohesion?) but despite its appearance, it was packed with flavor. It’s hard to give words to how awesome it tasted. I served it with a little avocado on top. Yum.

WHAT I USED:

  • 1 lb of ground venison (ground with hand-dandy KitchenAid attachment)
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 2/3 cup almond flour
  • 2 small green peppers – from our own balcony garden (oh yeah!)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 1 tbsp chili garlic sauce – since finding this (thank you Jason!) it has fast become a staple in our house. Get some. You’ll love it.
  • 1 tsp minced garlic (just to have a little more garlic without the heat)
  • a little less than 1 tbsp of chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • a little less than 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp fat (I used leftover bacon grease)

THE PROCESS

The process is pretty simple.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Chop up your veggies and saute them in your fat (olive oil, coconut oil, lard, bacon fat – whatever your pleasure) with the garlic.

Mix your meat with the egg, flour, spices, and veggies when done. Mix all together well then place in bread pan and pat down.

Bake for 30-40 minutes.

Mine went for 43 minutes; I’m still learning the new oven and so far some of my usual recipes are needing more time than with the old oven.

Let cool, cut and serve. Enjoy!

…no one is born a great cook, one learns by doing.
~ Julia Child, My Life in France

2 comments

  1. I live in fear of meatloaf. My late father made a great meatloaf and I have had many since his passing (over 20 years ago) that are just dire. I am due some venison from a friend in Co. Wicklow who shot it a week ago. When it gets here, I may well give a venison meatloaf a go. Perhaps putting some fatty bacon into the mix might improve the binding?
    Best,
    Conor

    Like

What do you think?

