A Beautiful Night Sky

This is what I saw out my living room window Sunday night, about 8:30 pm.

I HAD to try to capture it. I scrambled for the tripod, frantically attached the camera, and dashed out into the 49 degrees temperature without a coat to snap a few shots. Not bad for my first attempts in the dark I think. (It was not as light as it looks.)

The wind was moving the clouds across the sky pretty quickly so I didn’t have time to fuss around. I just did what I could as my fingers cramped in the cold and I hoped to get a few decent shots.

I wish the moon was more like the orb that my eye truly saw, rather than such a burst of bright light. Any photo savvy people reading that can give me a tip on how to do that? I used my night setting and pretty much let the camera control the settings. I tried to switch over to manual but the shots were dark as night and it was just too cold and the clouds were disappearing too fast for me to take the time to play around.

How ’bout those Christmas lights? I love ’em. Courtesy of our neighbors who share the same driveway.

There are nights when the wolves are silent and only the moon howls.
~ George Carlin

2 comments

What do you think?

