Sweet Potatoes and Cauliflower Rice, with a little bacon of course

This recipe by Julie Bauer on paleOMG made for a great side dish last night to some venison back strap steaks wrapped in bacon. Mmmm…

I think if you wanted to make the dish more like an entree you could add more bacon, or add sausage, and onions. I almost added onions last night. Onions, good.

Here’s the skinny on how I made this; I didn’t diverge from the original recipe much. For once in my life, I didn’t do exact measurements so you’ll have to forgive my rough estimates below.

My Ingredients: 

  • 4 strips bacon, fried and chopped to bits
  • about 3/4 of a head of cauliflower
  • 2 sweet potatoes, chopped
  • about 1 tbsp of minced garlic
  • about 1 tsp of chili garlic paste (ka-pow!)
  • about 1 cup chicken stock
  • about 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

The original recipe called for one sweet potato and 1/2 cup chicken broth. I wasn’t sure one potato was going to make enough for two people (especially a Don-sized portion) so I went with two potatoes and then added more broth to be sure there was enough liquid to steam the potatoes. It worked out well.

And the addition of the chili garlic paste was brilliant. I got a thumbs up from Don. 🙂

My process: 

  • I fried up the bacon, set it aside to drain and set the pan aside to cool while I prepped my other ingredients.
  • I warmed the cauliflower in the microwave for about 2 minutes. (I’ve never done this before but Julie recommended it so I gave it a go.) Then I reduced it to rice using the food processor.
  • Next I diced up the sweet potatoes.
  • Then I added the garlic, cauliflower, potatoes, spices, and chicken stock to the pan with the bacon grease and mixed well. I warmed it on medium to a good simmer and covered for 10 minutes, stirring frequently. (I get paranoid about overcooking and sticking to the pan.)
  • After about 10 minutes I removed the lid, added the bacon, mixed well, and left it on low while Don finished grilling the steaks.

And that, as they say, was that. It was pretty easy to put together and really didn’t take but maybe 30 minutes from start to finish.

A good cook is like a sorceress [or sorcerer] who dispenses happiness.
~ Elsa Schiaparelli

What do you think?

