Almond Butter BACON Cookies

Yes, you heard me right. Bacon.

In a cookie.

I made these for dessert on New Years Eve. So glad I did. They are AMAZING!

I cannot take a single shred of credit for coming up with this idea. A fellow blogger posted about her inspired thought to add bacon to cookie. With a little research, she found that she wasn’t the first person to come up with the idea of putting bacon in cookies. She may be one of the first to try to lighten the sugar load. Regardless, we are both super excited about the new concoction.

This is what you need if you want to try these.

  • 1 cup almond butter
  • about 1/4 cup raw almonds, roughly chopped (if you like nutty cookies like me)
  • 1 cup organic sugar (coconut palm sugar for even less carbs if you can get your hands on some; I didn’t have any)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 5 1/2 slices of bacon (it’s what I had on hand; we were making two bacon infused dishes that day)

Mix all ingredients.

Now, I didn’t actually have a whole cup of almond butter. I only had about 3/4 cup so I used that, and then reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and shaved a little off the baking soda so it was less than 1 tsp.

I couldn’t really reduce the egg so it’s possible my cookie dough was a little wetter than usual and I expect them to turn out slightly different next time. I can say for sure it didn’t hurt anything.

Bake your cookies on 350 degrees on a cookie sheet with parchment paper 10 minutes or so. I let mine go for about 12.

Oops! I almost got one big cookie. I don’t bake cookies often, and usually I bake them on our baking stone, so I may have miscalculated the size of my cookie balls. I rolled them, dipped the top in a little sugar in the raw, and then pressed them with a fork like traditional peanut butter cookies.

We had friends over and the cookies were a resounding success with everyone. We each ate two and Don took the three remaining cookies to work the next day. The guy he shared with there liked them too. And Don liked them a little better the next day. He said they were more crunchy and the bacon flavor was a little less intense. Personally I like my cookies warm. To each his own.

I did not bake all the dough on New Years Eve. I had enough leftover for six more cookies which I baked up a couple of days later.

I though perhaps because the dough was firm and cold from the fridge that they might not spread out like they did the first time, and I tried baking them on the stone instead.

I was wrong. They still spread out just like before. So be warned, if you want to give these a try, give them plenty of room between cookies.

We splurged and ate them all that night. Don’t judge. Make these and try not to eat them all in one sitting. 🙂

I’m never gonna get used to the 31st century.  Caffeinated bacon?  Baconated grapefruit?  ADMIRAL Crunch?
~ Fry, from Futurama

3 comments

What do you think?

