Reading Corner – The Monster’s Daughter

Last night I finished reading The Monster’s Daughter, which btw, I won on a blog giveaway from the author Deborah Bryan. (Thanks Deb!)

I feel really torn but feel like I should be honest about my impressions rather than just writing fluff. I have mixed feelings about the book. I enjoyed Deb’s writing style and some of the conventions used, like the flashback chapters that create a sense of nostalgia and are interspersed throughout the book. But on some level I had a hard time connecting with the story. It’s very dark. It’s not “fun” like Sookie in True Blood (the books not the tv series, which I don’t like) or Schuyler in the Blue Bloods series. I also felt very aware as a reader that there was often an underlying message or meaning to much of the text. Or at least that was the sense I kept getting and kept trying to resist. I don’t think this is a bad way to write or that it was poorly done. I just don’t think it is writing that appeals to me. If that means I like more superficial, light reading, then I suppose I’ll have to accept that. Although I know I’ve read some heavy things before and not been put off. I think that perhaps I had the wrong expectations going into this particular reading. I’m not entirely sure what I was expecting but I definitely felt like it wasn’t what I was expecting. Despite that, the main character, Ginny, is a strong, relate-able character and I really enjoyed some of the more fantastical things that took place with her late in the book. (Trying not to give anything away.) I’m looking forward to the next installment to hear more of Ginny’s adventures. I would encourage anyone who enjoys young adult fiction, particularly young adult vampire fiction to check out The Monster’s Daughter. Don’t be discouraged by my take on it. I’ve read many reviews by others who LOVE the story. You just might too.

Next up is How To Be A Woman, by Caitlin Moran. I’m eager to read this but I’m nervous to start. I’ve been starting and stopping a lot of books lately because the things I’ve picked up haven’t hooked me. Crossing my fingers that this one will be a winner! 🙂

Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul.
~ Joyce Carol Oates

2 comments

    1. Well, to compare the experience to another more extreme example, I cannot stand the Twilight series. Like, serious dislike. It was torture to read. I read it because a friend was a hardcore Twilight fan and I wanted to see what all the hype was about. (This was before they made they movies.) Despite the awfulness of story, I would read another if she wrote a follow up to Breaking Dawn. I see so much more potential to the story and the characters at the end and her writing felt so much stronger at the end. (Incidentally I read Meyer’s The Host and really enjoyed that one.)

      I felt similarily with your story in that you’ve created a character who really started to come alive for me in the latter part of the story and I am interested to see further development of Ginny’s character and her powers.

      Like

What do you think?

