Movie Monday – The Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Last week we rented The Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Solid movie. Outstanding effects. Believable story. Tied in well with the previous movie. All in all I was impressed. I think I was afraid I was going to be disappointed. There had been so much hype about the special effects and filming and I think I worried that the story wouldn’t hold up or that it just wouldn’t be all that interesting. But I really liked it. Don was struggling with the story near the end when all the apes broke free and we were discussing that it was hard to believe 50-100 apes could overtake the world but we were forgetting a major element to the story (which I won’t mention because if you are like us and don’t remember from the other movie, I don’t want to spoil things for you.) It all came together and made sense in the end. This is one worthy of being added to our DVD collection next time Blockbuster has a sale on previously viewed movies.

Evil will always triumph over good because good is dumb.
~ Dark Helmet, Space Balls

What do you think?

