Sweet Potato Hash Browns – Pretty Good Actually

Last weekend I made breakfast. (Don usually makes breakfast.) I wanted something more than the usual: eggs, and bacon, or eggs and sausage. I know there are plenty of ways to prepare them but often it just seems like we are doing the same things each weekend. I just needed something to shake things up. So I looked around the kitchen and spied sweet potatoes. Hmm, sweet potato hash browns? I wondered… and then I Googled. Lo and behold, lots to choose from of course. I went with the first one I looked at and pretty much followed the recipe exactly, just paring it down for only two servings.

It was darn good. I’d make it again.

If you’d like to try, it’s super easy.

Ingredients For Two Servings:
Total prep and cook time – 30 minutes 

  • 1 small sweet potato, peeled and grated
  • two strips bacon
  • 1/2 sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Get your bacon on the stove to cook while you prep your other foods.

Peel and grate your sweet potato. (The whole potato is about twice the size of the one I grated. Sorry I forgot to get a picture of my potato before grating.)

Chop your onion and get your other things together.

When your bacon is done, take it out and let it drain. Chop into bits when cool.

Put your onions right in the bacon grease and saute for a minute or two. Add garlic as well.

Add sweet potato and bacon to onions.

Add your salt and pepper. Saute for 10-12 minutes.

If you’re like me and cook pretty much everything in the one pan, then once fully cooked to your liking, remove hash browns from the pan and place them in the oven on warm while you cook your eggs.

(Eggs are not my specialty. Don says I stir them too much. I’ll get the hang of it someday.)

Serve, and enjoy!

Hmm, need some color under that plate next time.

All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast.
~ John Gunther

3 comments

What do you think?

