Spicy Avocado Egg Salad

Thanks to Becca at theprimalsexy for sharing her interpretation of Avocado Egg Salad last week.

OMG. I could eat it all in one sitting. I didn’t, but I could.

This was my breakfast this morning.

I licked my plate clean when I was done. No joke. It’s that good.

I followed Becca’s recipe almost exactly, simply cutting it in half because I don’t have that many eggs lying around to make quite that much…and then I added cayenne pepper. You know me, I like a little kick to my food. 🙂

Here’s what you need:

  • 4 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 tablespoons greek yogurt (with the fat – do you know how hard I had to look to find the ONE tub that wasn’t fat free?!! Ridiculous.)
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (not in the picture because I added it as an afterthought once I had the rest together)

Of course, the list above is what I started out with. But seeing how little it made and how AMAZING it tasted, then I threw in one more egg and another 1/2 avocado (I was using the other half in another meal and I needed to do something with that leftover avocado.) I added a little more of everything else, just eyeballing it and checking for taste. But the measurements above yield a reasonable 2-4 servings, depending on your preferred serving size.

I mashed up my avocado first in one small bowl, then added it to the chopped eggs and other ingredients. Mix together thoroughly and you should have something like this.

Let sit overnight for maximum flavor infusion (especially if you use cayenne.) Serve with tomato, as a dip for corn chips (not very paleo/primal but still very tasty), or just eat it right out of the bowl. And try not to eat it all at once. 🙂

I had these recipes that say do this, do that. Who MAKES these rules?
~ Emeril Lagasse

One comment

What do you think?

