Movie Monday – Real Steel, Blitz

Meh. I’m not sure what to say about Real Steel. We were both really intrigued by the trailers when it was in the theaters. I think we thought it was going to blow our minds visually or at least be a really impressive action flick. But I found it to be more of a family movie than an action film. Not that you can’t have both. I just felt the action took a back seat to a lot of other things in the story. It wasn’t a bad movie I just didn’t connect to it much and Don fell asleep, which on the surface could be viewed badly, but he was just really tired that night. He finished watching it the next day and when I asked what he thought he said, “I liked it.” So, there you have it. He liked it but didn’t love it and I could take it or leave it. Hugh Jackman is easy on the eyes for two hours at least.

I also watched Blitz one night that Don was working. I’d tried to suggest it for a movie night together on previous occasions and he’d not been interested. So, I watched it myself. Eh. It was another ‘just ok’ movie. He would not have liked it so thank goodness I never insisted on watching it together. LOL  It is a cop drama/action story and Don is generally not interested in those types of stories, tv or movie. They aren’t the first thing I go for either but I’m not adverse to them either. I have to admit that my initial interest in the movie was simply because I like Jason Statham, but this wasn’t one of his better movies. Because it is a British film, I had a hard time following the dialogue. It was often too quick or they used words I wasn’t familiar with and had to try to understand by context. I did like the development of the working relationship between the two main characters – Statham’s tough guy character and the not so tough guy who takes over as Acting Inspector at the station.

What is this thing? I mean, it serves no useful purpose for there to be a bunch of chompy, crushy things in the middle of a hallway. No, I mean we shouldn’t have to do this, it makes no logical sense, why is it here?
~ Gwen DeMarco, Galaxy Quest 

One comment

What do you think?

