A Celebration Dinner

Don made this beautiful meal to celebrate the sale of the quad last week. I asked him where he got his inspiration, and he just shrugged, “I had a few ideas and wanted to try them out.”

He did all of this, without any recipes. He blows my mind. ūüôā

On the left, dinner consisted of venison tenderloin with a red wine reduction sauce, “mashed potatoes” made from turnips topped with bacon and chives (first time we ever tried this – they were AMAZING!; who am I kidding? It was all amazing. :-)), and grilled shrimp dusted with coconut flakes over a green salad with balsamic dressing.

On the right is, of course, dessert. Baked peaches, with a cranberry reduction sauce, whipped cream, and chopped pecans. Heavenly. (That is NOT a full size dinner plate btw. The photos side by side like that are deceiving. LOL)

I can’t even begin to tell you how he did all this. I wasn’t following any of the process. He had WAY too much going on.

I can tell you how to make mashed turnips. SUPER easy.

Cut into chunks…

and steam till soft.¬†Drain and mash – he used the immersion blender. Add butter, salt, and pepper to taste. Top with gravy, bacon, chives, whatever your pleasure. They were by far the closest thing we’ve made with substitute ingredients to mirror mashed potatoes. Full of flavor, creamy texture, and darn good.

Non-cooks think it’s silly to invest two hours’ work in two minutes’ enjoyment; but if cooking is evanescent, so is the ballet.
~ Julia Child

4 comments

    1. I feel so blessed that he loves to cook! I’ve learned so much from him and greatly widened my palate over our years together. My mom can barely comprehend the things I eat now, I was such a picker eater as a kid! LOL

      Like

What do you think?

