A Mardi Gras Ball

We went to our first ever Mardi Gras Ball last night, thanks to the generosity of my friend Yvette who invited us to her Krewe’s ball. (Thanks so much!)

It was great fun sampling this aspect of Louisiana culture. Certainly was a new experience for us.

The dress code for the ball was formal, to-the-floor dresses for women, and black tie for the men. Some men wore tails even. Don wore his military dress uniform (since we don’t own a tux, and because it was a unique opportunity for him to do so.) I got an amazing deal on my dress at a consignment store last month; my clutch and gloves were my late maternal grandmother’s and it was special to me to have an opportunity to use them; Yvette loaned me the beautiful jewelry that coordinated wonderfully with the dress; and Yvette also treated me to a day at the salon to have my hair done. My goodness!

We first enjoyed an hour of performances and awards during the presentation of the royal court…

then we ate, drank, and danced the night away. I even managed some line dancing! Wish I had some pictures of all that but it was incredibly hard to get any photos because it was so dark. The choices were to blind folks with the flash, or get blurry shots without it.

It was a great time. We met some great people, might have made some new friends, and enjoyed the most formal event we’ve ever attended together. I felt like a train wreck this morning after not getting to bed until 2 am and getting up at 7:30 to help get Don back to work today, but in the end, a little lost sleep is worth the memories made I think.

The moments may have ended, but the memories last forever.
~ Unknown

7 comments

What do you think?

