Movie Monday – Apollo 18, Crazy, Stupid, Love.

Apollo 18. Blech. Don’t bother. Just my opinion but I thought it was a total waste of time. I actually didn’t even stay focused on the film. Rather I was up, putting away the dinner leftovers, cleaning the kitchen, and watching with only half my attention. Just that much was painful. My lack of interest was partly due to the found footage film style again. As soon as it started out with found footage I physically felt my interest and enthusiasm for the movie drop. My bad for not taking a closer look at the description. I knew it was about going to the moon and I knew that Don wanted to see it so I was being agreeable. I’m thinking as I write this (last Wednesday) that I think he owes me a night of something like Crazy, Stupid, Love. (Even though the movie was a disappointment for him too. But it was his pick – my turn! lol) If the found footage film style doesn’t bother you or adds to the experience for you, then perhaps you might enjoy the movie. It’s just not for me.

Saturday, I got my wish! We watched Crazy, Stupid, Love. and it was fun, for me. Mostly. (Don talks way too much during chick flicks, maybe something to remember next time.) For those that don’t know, Crazy, Stupid, Love. is about a middle-age couple who have grown apart and are going through a divorce. A young, alpha male (as Don put it) approaches the husband at a bar and offers to help him re-discover his manhood, in order to either find a way to move on or rekindle things with the wife. I enjoyed it. I laughed my ass off at the surprises and shockers when the parallel stories collided. I was impressed that I didn’t see it coming. (Those of you who have seen it I’m sure know what I’m talking about and those that haven’t, well I don’t want to spoil it for you.) It was a fun, light, chick movie. Don was a good sport and tolerated it but felt that it was not very realistic and certainly not something he would have chosen to watch on his own. LOL  So ladies, if you haven’t seen it, I say check it out and have some fun. 🙂

The bags under your eyes looks like Hugh Hefner’s ball sack.
~ Jacob, Crazy, Stupid, Love.

What do you think?

