Reading Corner – Circle of Stones

Circle of Stones is epic historical fiction at its best! The tale is set in 12th Century Wales and full of strong, fascinating characters and intrigue. I enjoyed it immensely! I had a little trouble with the beginning; I can’t put my finger on why. But once I was about 20 pages in, I was hooked. Having read the Eleanor of Aquitaine series by Sharon Kay Penman, which tells the tale of England during the same time period, I was especially intrigued and interested to hear the other side of the story, since the two countries were frequently at odds during the period. I feel like I’ve already read five books worth of story in one novel and I can’t wait to see what’s in store in the next installment, Circle of Stars. If you’re a lover of historical fiction or this period and haven’t read Anna Lee Waldo, I recommend you check her out. This is my first time reading her work, and I’m definitely going to be looking up her other novels in time as well.

Children should learn that reading is pleasure, not just something that teachers make you do in school.
~ Beverly Cleary

One comment

What do you think?

