Chicken Salad

I honestly can’t recall if I’ve had chicken salad much in past years but it’s popular here. One of the restaurants my co-workers enjoy frequenting sells a kick-ass chicken salad sandwich on jalapeno bread. OMG. Heaven.

I recently experimented at home and came up with this combination. I like it. We eat it over greens, by itself as a snack, or with raw carrots.

I will preface with this – I know Miracle Whip is not primal/paleo and canned chicken is not ideal either. But they are concessions I am willing to make at this point in our food journey. Hopefully no one feels the need to rake me over the coals for it. Those who follow a more strict organic and whole foods diet may substitute as needed with more natural ingredients.

Chicken Salad

9.75 oz can chunk chicken breast (or 1 cup of cooked chicken)
2 hard-boiled eggs – diced
Miracle Whip (sorry, I don’t measure)
celery – about 1 and ½ stalks, chopped
green onion – about 3, diced
sliced almonds – a small handful, diced
1 tbsp dill pickles
1 tbsp pimentos
1 tsp cayenne
pepper and salt to taste

Combine the chicken, eggs, celery, green onion, almonds, pickles, and pimentos with a conservative amount of Miracle Whip. You don’t want to overdo it right away. Get it all mixed together well and add more as needed for desired consistency. Add your salt, pepper, and cayenne last. Taste and add more if needed.

Chill overnight to let the flavors develop before serving.

Mmm, yum.

I’m obsessed with cooking shows, even though they make everything look so easy when it isn’t.
~ Joely Fisher

4 comments

    1. My DH and I get teased often by the “mayo” camp. People tend to fall strongly into one or the other, mayonnaise or Miracle Whip. We are definitely MW people. 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

