Simple solutions are sometimes the best

One of my latest favorite things is…drum roll please…a shower cap!

Nothing fancy, but it gets the job done!

Really. Not kidding.

It’s such a simple little device and something that I’d always associated with old fashioned ways, only having seen grandmothers and aunts use them. I didn’t see the practical use until recently. See, I finally listened to the girls at the salon about three years ago and stopped washing my hair every day. For years I’d been preached at that it strips your hair, causes additional breakage, that it’s just not necessary, yada, yada, yada. I finally decided to give it a try.

I got into a routine of washing every other day, or maybe every third day depending on how I wanted to wear my hair on a given day. But, as someone with long hair (past my shoulders) it meant that on the days that I didn’t wash, I put it up in a bun with a clip (uncovered) and showered. My hair always still got a little wet which sometimes didn’t matter, sometimes was a pain in the butt if it was in decent enough condition to still wear half down in clip or in a pony tail. It ended up that on my washing days, I wore my hair dry and down, and then on the non-washing day I had to wear it up in the clip. Back and forth, one then the other. It got dreadfully dull and routine.

But this past fall, we were visiting some relatives in Texas and low and behold a shower cap was in the bathroom. I gave it a test run, just to see what I thought and I was instantly in love. Within a week of returning home I ran out and bought one and it’s given me so much more freedom! I feel silly for my previous close-mindedness about the infamous shower cap and marvel every day at its simplicity. Now on days that I don’t wash, I put my hair in a ponytail and hold the tail up with a clip, slip my cap on, shower, and then afterwards, I can wear my hair any way I want. I can flat iron it and wear it down, I can leave it wild, put it in a pony, whatever.

Really girls, you’ve got to share this with your friends! If a peer had told me how much her shower cap made her life easier, I would have given it a try long ago.

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
~ Leonardo DaVinci

3 comments

  1. I am a closet shower cap user. Kevin and I went to a conference about 5 years ago and I tried the shower cap I found in the hotel bathroom. I LOVED it. I swiped the others they left and have been using them ever since. I am too cheap (embarrassed?) to buy one in the store lol.

    Like

    1. See! That’s exactly what I’m talking about. You shouldn’t have to be a closet user. LOL (I knew you might be using one, since I know you also only wash every so often.) 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

