Movie Monday – Killer Elite, The Three Musketeers

Killer Elite

This movie wasn’t bad. Lots of action. Some good stunts. Decent actors. At least, actors I enjoy watching anyway: Jason Statham, Clive Owen, and even De Niro. The story was a little complicated and the dialogue was difficult to follow at times. But it served its purpose for gratuitous action and violence.

The Three Musketeers

Eh, it was kind of fun but also a little…I don’t know, weird, unexpected, different. I definitely think it was silly to make in 3D; which is why we waited and watched it in regular 2D but you can tell what scenes they made for 3D, that were just more in your face than necessary. Even though, for us, it wasn’t a total train wreck, being mildly entertaining and not something we were going to turn off without finishing, I managed to doze off repeatedly. But I don’t think I missed anything. Every time I dozed off and woke up, the same two people would be sword-fighting still. LOL

To sum up, if you’ve watched everything else lately and you’re really dying for some movie viewing, these aren’t a complete loss; but I wouldn’t recommend anyone running out to rent them either.

It’s not what a movie is about, it’s how it is about it.
~ Roger Ebert

2 comments

  1. Bummer, I did have hopes for “The Three Musketeers”- I so enjoyed the Disney one with Charlie Sheen, Oliver Platt and Kiefer Sutherland… the chase scene alone in that one is CLASSIC… “Remind me to send the Cardinal a note” and “…none for you, you’re too young”. Huh, maybe I’ll just go watch that one again…

    Like

    1. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen that one. I’m pretty sure it was better than this new one. I can appreciate their desire to re-invent something and try to make it different but it just didn’t all come together well for me.

      Like

What do you think?

